Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Esperance by Heather Frost: Review + Interview

62591427. sy475

Esperance by Heather Frost
Series: Esperance Trilogy #1
Release Date: November 18, 2022
Publisher: Self-Published
Genre: NA Fantasy Romance
Pages: 
Format Read: e-arc

Summary: Twelve strangers. Six marriages. One year in Esperance.

Amryn has many reasons to hate the empire. Her latest is her forced marriage to General Carver Vincetti, better known as the Butcher. If he learns even one of her secrets, he will kill her. And Amryn has many secrets. Not only is she an empath with forbidden magic, she’s also a newly recruited rebel intent on destroying the empire—starting at Esperance.

Carver knows the rebels have infiltrated the remote temple of Esperance. His job is to hunt them down before they can wreck the emperor’s new peace. Despite the demons that haunt him, Carver is intent on his mission—but he’s not prepared for Amryn. From her fiery red hair to her surprising wit, his new wife has captured his attention. The attraction that flares between them is undeniable. Now he just has to determine if she’s the enemy.

When the newly married couples become targets in a violent game, Esperance becomes more dangerous than anyone anticipated. Carver and Amryn are about to discover that no one is exactly who they appear to be—especially each other. 

Heather Frost

About the Author: Heather Frost is an #1 Amazon bestselling author of YA/NA fantasy romance. Her books have been Whitney Award and Swoony Award Finalists, and Royal Decoy was a 2022 semifinalist in The Best In Indie Awards. She has a BS in Creative Writing and a minor in Folklore, which means she got to read fairy tales and ghost stories and call it homework. Heather lives in a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains in northern Utah. To learn more about Heather and her books, visit her website: www.HeatherFrost.com.

Social Media Links: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | BookBub | Mailing list. Book Links: Kindle | Paperback lBog Tour Schedule: https://www.heatherfrost.com/post/esperance-media-tour-schedule

PRE-ORDER GIFT

Pre-order ESPERANCE on Kindle (or buy the paperback on or before November 18th) then fill out the form below to receive a bookmark! Open internationally.

https://forms.gle/g24KSM7Yyr6U8yMA8

Thank you for pre-ordering!

Review

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Spice: 1/5

Review: This was such a great book! When Heather Frost asked me if I would like to read this book, I immediately said yes without second guessing. Frost is such an incredible writer that she never disappoints with her series. The premises of this book kind of reminded me of another one so I was very intrigued to find out how this one will go. I really loved the writing style of this book as the pacing was perfect with so many twists and turns in the book. Frost is also incredible at writing plot twists to keep readers focused on the story. The plot and world-building were also well done. I love how Frost balances politics in the story as I am usually not a fan but didn’t mind it in this book. 

There are many main characters but I will only talk about the main, main ones who are Amryn and Carver. Both have only seen each other at the altar and don’t trust each other. I loved seeing their character development throughout the book and how their romance also formed throughout the story. I was hooked on their characters and had so much fun reading about them. There are many side characters in this book some you will enjoy and some you will hate. Though you will love more than you will hate. The romance between the main couple is enemies to lovers which is one of my favorite tropes and was well done in the book. 

The ending was great (not a cliffhanger) and I cannot wait for book two! This is a magnificent story that will keep you hooked until the end. A book you will not regret reading. I do have to say that I don’t see this book categorized as a new adult as I was expecting steam but the story was still great. I totally recommend this series and especially her other series Fate of Eyrinthia which is so good. Her writing is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Kierra Cass.

*this e-arc was sent to me by the author to give an honest review in return*

Interview with the Author

An Interview with Heather Frost, author of Esperance!

About the book:

  1. How did you come up with the story of Esperance?

We hear stories about the prince and princess having to marry to bring about peace (and I LOVE them; see Royal Decoy J) but it was also a common practice to marry off people from the noble class, and this thought woke up my creativity.

What if there were twelve strangers, all with differing backgrounds and prejudices, and they were all paired up in arranged marriages? What if they were forced to live in the same place for the first year of their marriages?

These questions led me to Esperance—and I love how this story shaped up! I got to play with some fun tropes, including enemies-to-lovers, forbidden magic, gray politics, gray characters, and some strong mystery vibes. 

  1. How is it like to balance both Fate of Eryrinthia and Esperance?

Because the characters and worlds are so different, it’s actually been easier than I thought it would be! It also works out well because there are times beta readers are looking at a draft of a book, so I can work on another project instead. It keeps things fresh and exciting, and I think it enhances my overall creativity.

  1. What part of the book was the hardest to write? 

It is a unique challenge to write a book that all takes place in essentially one location. Obviously I change scenes/settings, but the characters are all stuck in the remote temple of Esperance. It was also challenging at times to balance so many characters—especially in the beginning, because you don’t want to overwhelm the readers by introducing too many too fast. 

  1. How long did it take to create Esperance? (from drafting, to cover design, editing, etc)

I wrote the first draft years ago, but I set it aside so I could focus on Royal Decoy and the Fate of Eyrinthia series. After a year of writing full-time, I decided it was time to pull Esperance of the shelf. I had some ideas for revisions, so I started a massive re-write earlier this year. So, once I really started working on it, I’d say it took about six months to get through the whole process, though I did take breaks to work on other things.

  1. When can readers expect book 2?

I don’t have an official release date yet, but it could be a full year. Maybe sooner, so stay tuned. But I promise, it will be worth the wait!

  1. Where can readers purchase your book? (Any signed copies, in book boxes, special editions, etc). 

The ebook is sold exclusively on Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BDK388D6?ref

The paperback will be available on Amazon first, but will soon be available on B&N and all your favorite booksellers.

If you’d like a signed paperback, you can message me here to place an order: https://www.heatherfrost.com/contact

About you:

  1. What book are you currently working on?

I’m putting the final touches on Royal Rebel before sending it to my beta readers. And I. Am. So. Excited! While we get to check in with all the characters, I think Grayson really shines in this one. And we will finally get to actually see Zennor in this book, so I’m excited for readers to experience that! There are 6 novels in the series, so book 4 will be shifting us toward some exciting things.

  1. If you could visit one place on Earth, where would it be? 

At the moment, I would pick New Zealand. I really want to see the Shire, haha!

  1. What do you like to do in your free time?

Reading is usually my default, but I also enjoy cooking and baking, movies, games with family and friends, and I’ve recently taken up knitting.

  1. Who are some of your favorite authors?

I love Rebecca Zanetti, Mary E. Pearson, J.K. Rowling, Sarah J. Maas (especially her A Court of Thorns and Roses series!) and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Published by Thindbooks

Hello! I'm a book reviewer on Instagram @thindbooks, Goodreads, and here! I love YA books, especially in the fantasy genre. I'm a total Maas trash meaning I LOVE all of Sarah J. Maas's book. Some of my favorite series other then ACOTAR & TOG are Furyborn, Shatter Me, Shadowfalls and the After series. Here you will see reviews, blog tours, book box book reveals and so much more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: